Stasney, Mattson Team To Win Berg Construction Walleye Cup On St. Louis River

Mike Dosan of Duluth holds the 30-inch walleye he caught Sunday in the Berg Construction Walleye Cup fishing tournament on the St. Louis River in Duluth. The fish took big-fish honors tor the two day tournament. (Mike Dosan photo)

High and turbid water made fishing tough in the Berg Construction Walleye Cup, held Saturday and Sunday on the St. Louis River in Duluth. Jack Stasney of Duluth and Shawn Mattson of Cloquet won the $1,100 first prize with the maximum of eight fish over the two-day event. Total length of their fish was 183.25 inches or an average of 22.8 inches.

In the tournament, organized by the Twin Ports Walleye Association, anglers photograph on a measuring board the fish they wish to enter. The fish are released alive.

Sixty boats of two anglers each competed in the event, which paid cash prizes to 10th place and merchandise prizes to 45th place.

Just four teams measured their four-fish limits both days.

“Fishing was tough. Very tough,” said Duluth’s Kyle Berg, who fished the tournament with his brother, Josh Berg. “We didn’t get anything on day one.

The river remains high and dirty with run-off. Most anglers trolled night crawlers or crankbaits, Berg said. Anglers fished from the Spirit Lake area upstream, he said.

Mike Dosan of Duluth took big-fish honors with a 30-inch walleye he caught Sunday in Spirit Lake trolling a Rapala Husky Jerk. Mark Halvorson of Lake Nebagamon and Ken Meysman of Poplar took the largest walleye on Saturday, a 29 ½ -incher.

For the two days, anglers measured 167 walleyes that totaled nearly 3,439 inches, for an average of 20 ½ inches.


Here are the top 10 teams in the Berg Construction Walleye Cup, with their total inches of fish measured, up to eight fish:

1. Jack Stasney, Duluth and Shawn Mattson, Cloquet, 183.25 inches; 2. Wade Engebretson and Mike Dosan, Duluth, 166 inches; 3. Troy Skorich, Superior, and Tim MacDougall, Duluth, 158.25 inches; 4. Robbie Maas, Duluth, and Tom Ondrosnic, 154 inches; 5. Mike Jasper and Ryan Forstrom, 152.5 inches; 6. Chris Edquist, Superior, and Chad Clough, Mahtowa, 144 inches; 7. Eric Wirz and Aaron Wollenberg, 139.75 inches; 8. James Pulkinen and Brad Furlong, 115.75 inches; 9. Steve Sutherland, Superior, and Grant Sorenson, Twin Cities, 112.5 inches; 10. Dean Peterson and Chris Rowe, 103.75 inches.